Our Team

Our passionate multi-disciplinary team works together to improve the lives of people living with persistent pain.  Here they are! 


Pain Physicians

Brenda Lau MD FRCPC FFPMANZCA MM CGIMS, (Pain Medicine and Anesthesiology) Co-founder and Medical Director CHANGEpain Clinic

Max Sun MD FRCPC (Rheumatology) Medical Director, iSITES Program

Alan Berkman MBChB DA(SA) FRCPC FIPP CIPS (Pain Medicine and Anesthesiology)

Martin Arrigan MB, BCh, FRCPC (Radiology)

Michael Butterfield MD FRCPC (Psychiatry), UBC Pain Medicine Resident

Chris Goddard MD FRFPC (General Surgeon)

Stephen Ho MD FRCPC (Radiology)

Aniz Khalfan MBChB FRCPC (Anesthesiology)

Allan Lam MD RAc CGIMS (General Practitioner)

Marcus Lem MD FRCPC (Public Health, Preventive Medicine)

Luck Louis MD FRCPC (Radiology)

Lindsay Machan MD FRCPC (Radiology)

Greg Siren MD CCFP FCFP (Family Medicine), Co-founder CHANGEpain

Ian K Tsang MD FRCPC (Rheumatology)

Patrick Yu MD FRCPC (Anesthesiology)

multi team.jpg

Allied Health Team

Sarah Borthwick BSc (Hons), MOT (Occupational Therapist), PgCPain

Judy LePage PhD, Registerd Psychologist

Tony LePage PhD, Registered Psychologist

Timothy Muller  PT, BSc, MMT

Lindsay Rite  DC BSc(Kin), CSEP-CEP

Pain Infusion Nurses

Hossein Atashnak BSN MSc (Anesthesiology), CCRN

Akbar Bayat BSN MSN CCRN

Kathy Burnie RN

Erik Fack RN

Tamara Larson RN

2016-04-17 08.37.52.jpg

Clinical Chroniclers

Our clinicians like to spend time with patients!  We have employed Clinical Chroniclers to complete documentation and other tasks to allow our clinicians to focus their time on patients as much as possible. 

Our chroniclers are university students from UBC Kinesiology or Simon Fraser University's Co-op Program, or recent university graduates who are pursuing careers as a clinician.  All chroniclers have in depth knowledge in anatomy.  

Carson Berry BSc

Gurjeet Bhangu BKin

Emily Chen Kinesiology Intern

Yasmin Khalili Health Sciences Intern

Austin Kao BKin

Michelle Pospisil BSc 

Mike Slack BKin

Jagdeep Walia Physiology Intern

Emily Wilkerson BA, Health Sciences Intern


Patient Care Coordinators

Daphne Galario BEEd

Yasmin Bains BKin



CHANGEpain Together Teachers

Krista Friesen BA, MSc, CYT, CPI, PgCPain, Program Leader

Sarah Borthwick BSc, MOT, CgCPain

Sarah Jamieson BComm, CYT, PgCPain

Judy LePage PhD, RPsych

Tony LePage PhD, RPsych

Hanna Rakowska RDH, RHN, CHCP


Research Team

Thank you to our dedicated volunteer research team.  This team analyses the aggregated data we collect, to better understand what treatments work best, and other quality improvement measures we can implement

Lindsay Rite DC, Lead Advisor

Austin Kao BKin, Research Coordinator

Peter Doris MD FRCPC, Research Advisor

Chris Goddard MD FRCPC, Research Advisor

Angela Tescon MSc, Research Advisor

Carson Berry BSc, Research Assistant

Curtis May BKin, UBC Med Student, Research Assistant



Judy Pryce BComm, CPA, CA, CMC, Chief Administrative Officer

Bryana Phipps BKin, Operations Manager

Doris Young Administrative Officer

Michelle Pospisil BSc, Infusion Coordinator and Staff Training Leader

Quicktech IT Support



We are fortunate to have a team of passionate volunteers who assist with quality improvement  and research initiatives.  Our volunteers are working towards clinical careers and will use their experience at CHANGEpain to help guide them in their career paths.

Angelo Graffos BKin

Shao Rahman, BKin